USDOT Holds First Safety Council Meeting

usdot_logoThe U.S. Department of Transportation recently held the first meeting for its newly formed safety council, which includes representatives from the agency’s 10 operating administrations.

The department previously had no formal process for the administrations to share safety data, best practices and strategies. The council is charged with further enhancing all administrations’ safety focus and boosting the impact of all safety programs.

Chaired by U.S. Transportation Deputy Secretary John Porcari, the council includes the heads of the Federal Aviation Administration, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Federal Railroad Administration, Federal Transit Administration, Maritime Administration, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Research and Innovative Technology Administration and St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corp.

The “action-oriented, data-driven” council will foster an open dialogue about common issues and provide a forum for “fresh ideas and new perspectives,” said Porcari in a prepared statement.